Umayyad Mosque (known also as al-Musafi Mosque after Mohammed Musafi al-Thahab, who renewed it in 1225 Hegira), is the oldest mosque ever built in Mosul. Built in (16 Hegira) by Otbah Bin Farqad al-Selemi, it is strongly present in hearts of Mosulis and the people of Nineveh. In addition to its historical importance, the mosque is unique in its architectural type that belongs to the Umayyad Era. 

College of Archaeology, in cooperation with Nineveh Antiquities and Heritage Inspector Office, made a field survey for the mosque, in preparation for restoring the site within the Societal Heritage Preservation Plan. 

Also Read